3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 14, 2013 7:59 PM by Jeff Arola

Can Photoshop 7.0 be used to upgrade Photoshop 6.0 on a Mac G5 with Leopard 10.5.8 ?[was: gonzo1944]

gonzo1944

Can Photoshop 7.0 be used to upgrade Photoshop 6.0 on a Mac G5 with Leopard 10.5.8 or will it not work unless it is in the Classic envoirnment?

• 1. Re: gonzo1944
          Jeff Arola Adobe Community Professional

Your talking about photoshop and not photoshop elements?

Certainly photoshop 6 won't run on Leopard (no classic in leopard) and i don't believe photoshop 7 will either.

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/370736?tstart=0

Or are you talking about using photoshop 7 to upgrade to a newer version of photoshop that will run on Leopard?

Is your machine intel or ppc?

• 2. Re: gonzo1944
            gonzo1944 Level 1

To R. Kelly.....I am old school in Mac, I love my G5...I do have a Bachelors degree in Electronic Publishing, but I graduated in 95'...so, not meaning to bore you...I do have Photoshop 6.0 and was unaware, though I purchased Leopard throught the Mac store, that the classic would no longer be available. I do a great deal of work in Photoshop and Illustrator and I guess my main question is....where do I go from here?

I know that CS-5 Photoshop is a whole new program and I checked with Adobe and on Amazon and it is not cheap, I know enough to deal through an authorized dealer...My Mac is a power PC G5 that I purchased in 2005. What version of Photoshop do I need to purchase so that it is compatible with leopard?  I have much work piled up to do and this would help me greatly.

Thank you for your help and any help you can provide for me,

Dennie

• 3. Re: gonzo1944
              Jeff Arola Adobe Community Professional

Here's the official system requirements for photoshop:

http://helpx.adobe.com/x-productkb/policy-pricing/system-requirements-photoshop.html

I believe photoshop cs4 and cs3 should run fine on your machine.