4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 14, 2013 8:33 PM by KazerDragon

AE CS6 MTS files lag

KazerDragon

I'm a newbie so go easy on me,

My friend is letting my borrow her Canon Camcorder Vixia HFS 10, it's pretty sweet.  I have some recordings at around 30 seconds to a minute per video clip.  Everything is fine before 30 seconds, but whenever I go past that 30s mark, I get some horrible lag, and I thought it was just AE but I think it stresses my whole system and I don't know why.  I've been around google and seen topics of the format being supported or unsupported and I honestly get confused since I'm still figuring this out.

I'm on an Alienware laptop m17x.  My specs are:

• Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560M
      • Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2670QM CPU @ 2.20GHz
      • Memory: 8 GB RAM
      • Windows 64 bit

I've recently upadted my graphics card drivers.

There are converters online but there's always just rendering it out in AE as a png sequence, but from a 300mb .mts file goes up 10,000 png images totalling up to 4gb for a 30 second 1080p clip. Plus I have to wait about an hour until after it's done rendering, a step I don't feel is necessary. I figured it's important to ask now rather than later before I start a collection of mts files I need to edit.  What's causing these mts files to lag out after effects if I click around the timeline after 30 seconds?  What are some alternatives without having to wait an hour per re-render or converter to another format and wasting work hours on waiting?

Any suggestions?

• 1. Re: AE CS6 MTS files lag
          Dave LaRonde Level 6

Everything is fine before 30 seconds, but whenever I go past that 30s mark, I get some horrible lag, and I thought it was just AE but I think it stresses my whole system and I don't know why