4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 16, 2013 2:30 PM by confused75

Removing watermark

confused75

Hi everyone,

I'm kinda new to photoshop, have CS5.

I have a jpg with a watermark on it that I can't seem to get rid of. It's the sew-classic.com across the page in the image. I was hoping that it would come up as a separate layer in photoshop, so I could just delete it, but it's all on one. Any ideas on a simple way to get rid of it? If it comes to zooming in and going over it with the background colour it won't be worth the effort!

Copy+of+Stud_Manl_partA1.unlocked_Page_01.jpg

• 1. Re: Removing watermark
          Trevor.Dennis Adobe Community Professional

It's a wee bit tricky because they have stroked the text outline, but still doable.

Open a Curves adjustment layer above the BG layer > click on the hand icon (top left of curves panel.  > click on the fattest part of the watermark text on the grey stripes you can find.  I make that the letter 'c' top right.

This place a point on your curve for the luminence value of the letters.

Now place points a wee bit above and below that point, and pehaps two more outside thos to lock the curve.

Now adjust the first point up or down till the text blends into the grey stripes.

You can do the same thing for the text in the central oval, but it is tricky.  I managed to get it almost completly clear.

If you now place a copy merged layer at the top of the stack (Shift Ctrl Alt e)  you can fine tune with the clone tool or paint brush or Patch tool - whatever works best for you.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Removing watermark
            JJMack Most Valuable Participant

Looks like the Watermark is doing its job. If you want the image without the watermark ask the owner for a copy for your use without his watermark.

• 3. Re: Removing watermark
              confused75 Level 1