10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 17, 2013 12:04 PM by luog1

Javascript code for buttons, dropdowns, and text fields

luog1

Hello, I currently have a form with a dropdown field that fills a text field with something depending on what is selected on the dropdown via a custom keystroke script.

I want to add a button that will input something into the text field depending on what is selected from the dropdown menu. Copying and pasting the keystroke script into the button does not work and returns an undefined value.

I also want to add that I'm new to coding and it would be most helpful if someone can provide a script for this or let me know if its not possible. Thanks.

• 1. Re: Javascript code for buttons, dropdowns, and text fields
          George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Can you post the Keystroke code that you used?

• 2. Re: Javascript code for buttons, dropdowns, and text fields
            luog1 Level 1

(function () {

if (event.willCommit) return;

var aQuotes = [];

aQuotes[0] = this.getField("Batch").value = util.printd("Rmmddyy-96", f) ;

aQuotes[1] = this.getField("Batch").value = util.printd("Rmmddyy-95", f) ;

aQuotes[2] = this.getField("Batch").value = util.printd("Rmmddyy-94", f) ;

aQuotes[3] = this.getField("Batch").value = util.printd("Rmmddyy-93", f) ;

aQuotes[4] = this.getField("Batch").value = util.printd("Rmmddyy-92", f) ;

aQuotes[5] = this.getField("Batch").value = util.printd("Rmmddyy-91", f) ;

aQuotes[6] = this.getField("Batch").value = util.printd("Rmmddyy-90", f) ;

var item = event.changeEx

getField("Batch").value = aQuotes[item];

})();

• 3. Re: Javascript code for buttons, dropdowns, and text fields

OK, the Mouse Up script for the button might look something like this:

(function () {

var aQuotes = [];

// Get the (export) value of the selected item of the dropdown

var item = getField("dropdown1").value;

// Set the value of the text field

})();