16 Replies Latest reply on Aug 19, 2013 10:37 AM by Noel Carboni

Help finding the right computer

Love Mendocino

I am abouat to buy a new laptop computer and would like some help in finding the right computer for use with Adobe LR5 and Adobe Photoshop CS6.  I am a serious novice/intermediate photographer and a real estate broker.

• 2. Re: Help finding the right computer
          Noel Carboni Level 8

Personally, with the way things are going with Microsoft, I'd suggest some form of Macbook.

-Noel

• 3. Re: Help finding the right computer
            Herbert2001 Level 4

Personally, with the way things are going with Apple, I would suggest anything but a Mac.

:-P

• 4. Re: Help finding the right computer
              JJMack Most Valuable Participant

Noel Carboni wrote:

Personally, with the way things are going with Microsoft, I'd suggest some form of Macbook.

-Noel

What going wrong over at Microsoft what going right at Apple Which OS version does Adobe software work better on.   I see so many software problems reported here between video driver versions,  Microsoft OS versions, Apple OS versions and Adobe Photoshop versions. I haven't a clue as to which mixture of software and hardware will be best for all workflow's. Win  laptop VS Mac laptops I believe a coin flip may provide the best choice.

Microsoft is not the only company manufacturing  windows laptops. Microsoft does not control hardware and software as much as as much as Apple does.  Some times I wonder why Apple approves Adobe Photoshop for use on Apple's Mac machines.

• 5. Re: Help finding the right computer
                gener7 Adobe Community Professional & MVP

After reading in these forums about some Windows 8 graphics bug wreaking havoc in Photoshop, I'm going to wait for either the 8.1 or 9.

My trusty Windows 7 Dell laptop is doing ok.