4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 18, 2013 7:26 AM by CadyMH

Whcih codec/settings for best quality, smallest file size?

CadyMH

Hi,

This is probably a really frequently asked question, and I apologise for that.

I've been  searching for an answer and the only information I can hastily find is at last a year old, some stuff dating from 2008

Forgive me - even though I'm studying media, I have no idea about codecs or the best ratio to use or anything.

Basically, I need some advice over which settings to use on my video. The work needs to be a really high quality, as it will be displayed on a projection screen for an exhibition, but I'm sending it over the internet, so I need a compromise between file size and quality.

One of my tutors has told me that I should always be using the ProRes 422 codec, but when I use that, and export the video in 1080p, it comes out at 3.5GB which is just ridiculous.

It has to be sent off ASAP, as the exhibition is on the 21st.

If anyone has any advice to me, that would be amazing.

Thank you in advance.

• 1. Re: Whcih codec/settings for best quality, smallest file size?
          SpareWheel Level 2

Hi CadyMH

First piece of information you need is what specifications does the exhibition organisors want in order for them to project. They often give minimun spec standards. Also how they want to recive it - I doubt they'll be happy for you to "email" them ProRes. They should be your first port of call.

To what specifications did you shoot and edit your project?

For someone just to tell you "...you must always use ProRes 422." is not helpful and a little short sighted, especially if the organisor want it to a different standard or delivery. Confirm this with the organisers and ask how they want it "sent".

It's the same thing as making a film (video) for broadcast. The broadcaster will always specify the format and method of delivery.

• 2. Re: Whcih codec/settings for best quality, smallest file size?
            reverb