7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 23, 2008 11:33 AM by pvanderhoeven

Any books recommended?

edsager-NDxnfr Level 1
      Hello All,

I am very new to ActionScript and was wondering if anyone could recommend books on the use of XML and AS3 with Flash and Flex. I am looking to understand the capabilities and move on to advanced topics.

Thank you,
      edsager
        • 1. Re: Any books recommended?
          theklue
          I think 'Programming Flex 2' by Joey Lott and Chafic Kazoun is quite good.

If you're interested in Design Patterns, get 'Advanced ActionScript 3 with Design Patterns' (Joey Lott and Danny Patterson). This is also a very good book.

Regards,

Alberto
          • 2. Any books recommended?
            edsager-NDxnfr Level 1
            theklue,

Thank you for the suggestion. I have that book on my Amazon Wish List; however, it has received a variety of negative reviews, though positive reviews outnumber the mediocre/poor reviews 8-7. I will definitely consider it.

I did purchase Learning "ActionScript 3.0: A Beginner's Guide," "Foundation Actionscript 3.0 with Flash CS3 and Flex" and "Essential ActionScript 3.0."

Again, thank you,
            edsager
            • 3. Re: Any books recommended?
              lw1001
              At the risk of pointing out what may already be obvious to you, I find the documentation provided by Adobe to be the most useful source of information. The Flex Developers Guide is a great place to start after one of the various quick start guides and the ActionScript language reference and ActionScript language spec are great for answering specific questions that you might have. I think all three of these (dev guide, spec and reference) are available as HTML and in PDF. Adobe does a really excellent job with Docs in my opinion.

I have one Flex book - Programming Flex 2 I think, published by O'Reilly, but I never look at it.
              • 4. Re: Any books recommended?
                tinylion_uk Level 2