2 Replies Latest reply on Aug 26, 2013 6:34 PM by Lucid_Pictures

Would a Mac-ready GPU work in a PC?

Lucid_Pictures

I've been doing a lot of reading on getting the right graphics card for my set up and I can't get a fix on this question: Could I use a Mac-ready GPU in a PC?  (And if so, are any mods necessary?)

I have a Mid-2010 Mac Pro (8-core) that currently has a stock Radeon HD 5770.  I mostly edit video for a living and I've somehow gotten by with that card alone.  But it's time for an upgrade and all reasearch points to the Nvidia GTX 680 (for Mac). 

I understand you can flash a card to be EFI compatible, but there is little to no discussion about going in the other direction.  Why would I even bother?  Because it looks like Apple is abandoning the "Pro" line up as the 2013 Mac Pro is not meant to be upgradeable like previous versions.  And generally speaking, I'm feeling increasingly locked in to whatever Apple wants me to do next.  (No hate for Apple here, but I'm just keeping an eye out for the future.)

The only indication I've found online is The Golden Guide to Flashing Graphics Cards  (I can't seem to insert the link but you can Google it easily).  It is a general but still thorough breakdown of how/why cards are flashed in the first place.  And since EFI is a "successor" to BIOS, the guide explicitly states that Mac-ready GPUs work fine in a PC.  It's going from PC to Mac that is the problem.

I know it's explicitly talking about booting up in one OS vs another, but is this generally true?

I also suspect that there's no way of telling what mods I'd need until I know what my future set up would be.  (I have no idea what that set up would be, btw.)

Right now it seems that it wouldn't matter which card I pick because one way or another it has to be Mac ready.  Any insight would be appreciated, though.  Thanks!