Premiere n my Macbook Pro

AirFoxMedia

Hi, I am using:

Premiere CS6

macbook pro '09

OS10.6.8

8 Gb Ram

2.53Ghz Intel 2 Duo

I am getting serious lag, The job and file sizes are large, but i am inquiring: Is there anyway to pump up my system, will more RAM help in this case, etc?

Should scratch disc settings be set to a sperate disc than media file storage?

Suppose I could transcode all the media to small proxy files. dont really want to do that.

thanks!

A

• 1. Re: Premiere n my Macbook Pro
          Sanders29

A few of the tutorials I watched suggested getting a GPU or graphics card to help speed up processing. Especially if you are working with HD. I am very new to Premiere myself so I don't know much myself but I thought I'd pass that along.

• 2. Re: Premiere n my Macbook Pro
            AirFoxMedia Level 1

can i get a new graphics card for my laptop? A GPU, is that a piece of equipment that plugs in thru the firewire and you run premire trhu that?? hmm...

• 3. Re: Premiere n my Macbook Pro
              John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If you are editing HD, I think you are under powered in at least 2 areas (maybe 3) with only 8Gig of ram and only a dual core CPU... the 3rd "maybe" is number and speed of hard drives... speed is 5400rpm -vs- 7200rpm

I think these are about Windows, but some laptop discussions

-http://forums.adobe.com/message/4717373

-http://forums.adobe.com/message/4578948

A GPU (Graphical Processing Unit) is usually built-in for a laptop... but, does yours allow adding/changing the GPU?

• 4. Re: Premiere n my Macbook Pro
                jasonvp Level 3

AirFoxMedia wrote:

Hi, I am using:

Premiere CS6

macbook pro '09

I am getting serious lag, The job and file sizes are large, but i am inquiring: Is there anyway to pump up my system, will more RAM help in this case, etc?

What kind of media are you editing?