It is used for syncing photos with your iPhone or iPad.
If you delete it you will loose what you have synced.
Thanks! So if I have all my iPhone pictures stored on my PC and then copy
some of them back on my iPhone in Albums, I don't need this mammoth folder?
I don't think I need to sync anything...