1 2 Previous Next 40 Replies Latest reply on Jan 24, 2014 10:56 PM by Steven L. Gotz

Photo vs Video editing Monitors. Any difference?

Ben_McPhee

Hey guys, I'm in the market for a new monitor, primarily for stills editing, but I want to make sure it's not just capable of, but GOOD for video editing/grading too (I'm new to it, but definitely plan to do a lot of it).

I'm looking at either an NEC or EIZO Monitor - 27" (Maybe 24"), but I haven't decided which one yet. This is primarily because they are the best screens for stills. If that doesn't hold true for video, please let me know what other brands/models I should look at.

Are there any differences between a good stills and a good video editing screen? What should I be on the lookout for?

I'm guessing response time would be one factor? The monitors I'm looking at seem to be about 6ms, although some are at around 8ms. (But I know there are 2ms monitors out there). Is that a major concern?

Anything else?

Cheers!

Ben

• 1. Re: Photo vs Video editing Monitors. Any difference?
          ECBowen Most Valuable Participant

The differences have to do with color range and color space. Those 2 would be fine for video and still work. The Dell Ultrasharp series would be another option.

Eric

ADK

• 2. Re: Photo vs Video editing Monitors. Any difference?
            Jack Banatoni Level 1

I'll second ECBowen's comment.  I used NEC monitors for a few years.  Loved them, but when it came time to buy another set I gave the Dell Ultrasharp series a try.  They've been great, both the 23" and 24" varieties.  Though, I notice the 23" shows hashmarks in certain lighting conditions on light colors that aren't as noticeable on the 24".  Not a huge deal to me, though.

Be sure you're comfortable working on a huge 27" screen if you go that route.  It took me a while to get used to dual 24" monitors.

You may also want to consider getting a color calibration tool with your monitors.