16 Replies Latest reply on Sep 1, 2013 12:27 AM by AMULI

How to reset symbols?

thedeeman

I'm still new at code and need help with resetting an animated symbol

I used Elaine's tutorial "Leveraging Independent Symbol Timelines" to create 3 animated buttons that display on a page when clicking a 1 of my 4 menu options. The buttons work great however, they will not reset. When I click on one of the other 3 menu options (which jumps to another timline position where the symbols are not visible) and then come back to the menu with the buttons,  the last played symbol animation doesn't reset.  I want the symbols to reset to the way they were when i first visited the page any time I leave that section and come back.  I tried using the code below for the click action on each one of my other 3 menus but it keeps autoplaying the symbol animations?

sym.getSymbol("myButton1").play(0);

sym.getSymbol("myButton2").play(0);

sym.getSymbol("myButton3").play(0);

Here's the code I'm using for each of my buttons:

var current = sym.getVariable("current");

if (current != "") {

sym.getSymbol(current).play("out");

sym.getSymbol("myButton").play("in"); 

}

else {

sym.getSymbol("myButton").play("in");

}

sym.setVariable("current", "meButton");

Here's what I have for my Stage (compositionReady):

sym.setVariable("current","");

I greatly appreciate your help!!!

• 1. Re: How to reset symbols?
          AMULI Level 4

Hi thedeeman,

I imagine that you use the 'in' and 'out' labels to identify to states of your button. Usually those states are static (not animated) so you use sym.getSymbol("myButton").stop("in"); .

In the following thread, I have described the making of Flash-like buttons and Zaxist has completed with a button group logic (only one in the group is in the "active" state).

Look at his code and especially

• the WB variable which is the equivalent of your current ;