4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 2, 2013 11:01 AM by Troy_w1

P9X79 Pro OC advice.

Troy_w1 Level 1

Ok, well Ive gone and done what i said i probably wouldn't and OC'd my new rig. When i installed the AI suite for my asus mobo i couldn't resist the autotune feature which made all stress testing etc look so easy.

I did the auto function on fast (not extreme) and it came back with a %30 boost clocking at around 4170mhz.

Now quite admitably OC is one area im a complete Noob , i understand the princepals, but just haven't spent a lot of time to learn as most other areas.

I have screen shotted the settings it came up with and deemed safe, and most looks ok from what i know ,3 main questions for those with more experience

1. is 1.5v ok for dramm ..  from memory this should be max, could it be lower and would that be safer.

2. 1.305v for cpu is quite safe yes ?

3. BCLK at 126 i thought was a bit high, can someone confirm ?

In addition, can anyone point me towards a good testing app for really running this through its paces and checking temps etc. are all ok after prolonged use.

Thanks heaps

Troy

OC1.PNGOC2.PNGOC3.PNG

• 1. Re: P9X79 Pro OC advice.
          Troy_w1 Level 1

In addition i just ran the PPBM6 and kept an eye on temps, avg never exceeded 75 , individual never went over 78 , initially it actually had better temp readings than the benchmark before I OC'd , turing the MPE off it went higher by only 2-3 degrees which seems pretty good.

I am running the Noctua u12 to cool the 3930k.

One weird thing i came accross during this test , is a major difference in CPU temp between Speccy and the Asus Sensor app , here is a screenshot for reference ...

Capture.PNG

• 2. Re: P9X79 Pro OC advice.
            cc_merchant Level 4