3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 17, 2008 6:27 AM by jay0316

Help with image selection/fade

jay0316
      Hi, I'm using Flash 8 and I'm a newbie to actionscript.

I have to create a flash document that will allow me to swap out colors, patterns, and hardware on our collars. I found a thread posted here that was pretty much what I was looking for. I altered the files to use my images, so I have the transitions working for colors. When you select an image from one set of buttons, I would like that image to stay put while you make your selection from the second set of buttons. Right now, you can click on button 1 in the top left corner to select a small collar and as soon as you click the large button 1 on the right, the small image disappears and vice versa.

How would I make the small collar selection stay put when you click on the large collar buttons?

In the end I will want it to work like this .

Could someone look at my file and see if they can give me some insight as to what is wrong?

Thanks!
        • 1. Re: Help with image selection/fade
          DZ-015 Level 1
          put all your images on the stage at the same time, overlapping each other, on different layers. Give them different movie clip instance names. Then set the _alpha of the images you don't want to see to 0, and the ones you do want to see to 100.

you can use something like this...
          this.onEnterFrame = function():Void {
          myMC._alpha += 1;
          }
          ...to fade the alpha up slowly. Hopefully you get the gist.

The main point is, try to do what you need to do here on 1 frame with actionscript. That will be easier than trying to do it on a bunch of frames physically.
          • 2. Help with image selection/fade
            jay0316 Level 1