4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 7, 2013 9:32 AM by johnrellis

Plugin for deleting NEF/raw files based on rating

andrewmo

The huge size of NEFs is causing a major problem for me with backups.  What I would love to be able to do is to rate my images in Lightroom and then delete the NEFs (i.e. raw files) for images that are less than 4 stars.  I want to keep raw files around for those really great shots to process enlargements etc but for 90% of the images keeping the jpg around is enough.

Rob Cole has a plugin that deletes jpgs associated with raw files (almost the oposite of what I want to do) but it doesn't filter based on rating.  He even provides the source code - thanks Rob - but this seems to be part of a much larger framework so it might be more trouble to modify his code than start from scratch for this "little" task.

I'm a proficient C# developer but I'm new to Lua and particularly Lightroom plugins.

It seems like this would be very straightforward to do but getting started wtih plugins seems to be a pretty steep learning curve.

What I would like to do is to:

1. Select a number of images in Lightroom (i.e. multiple folders in the library).
      2. Launch plugin (not sure what type of plugin would be appropriate)
      3. Loop through each image in the selection and if the rating is <4 stars (photo:getFormattedMetadata??), delete the corresponding .NEF file while keeping the .jpg. (LrFileUtils.delete??)

It looks like there are Export plugins and Publish plugins but neither of these seem to be what I want.  I don't want Lightoom to actually export or publish the files, I just want to process them. What is the best way to get started with this - is there an example template that gets me most of the way there with this?

What about this task is going to be hard - i.e. what problem am I going to run into that I don't forsee? (I'm only doing this on Windows if that helps/hurts)