3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 10, 2013 8:10 AM by Jia.Yi

Document-level javascript quandry

Jia.Yi

Ok, completely clueless newbie here whose only coding experience is Access VBA…from a few years ago. Need to write up some Javascript to make this work – that was a month’s worth of a migraine.  I ask for your patience, and would like to ask for forgiveness in advance for any headaches I induce while you try to figure out my problem(s).  Also, I’m not sure how to copy paste images or code examples, but I will do my best.

So, basic premise:  make a drop-down combo box that will populate another combo box based on whatever was selected in the first box – in this case, 31 items in the ‘Inventory Parts Used’ list, and a total of 427 respective sizes in the other list. 

YES, I’ve already looked at that http://acrobatusers.com/tutorials/js_list_combo_livecycle1 example, and followed it closely.  Took me forever, but I somehow got it to work. Was very happy.  Only thing I couldn’t figure out was the export value b/c mine wasn’t a number.  But I solved that by putting the CodeID and respective PartSize together (ex: 4-inch Fire Hydrant would show up as "FH-01:  4"). Anyways, I selected that working row and choose the “Place Multiple Fields” option times 15 rows.  Still working.  I’m dancing a jig. Then I tried to check on the code: 

“Text cannot be displayed in full by the Edit Dialog.  Please use an External Editor.” 

Uh… So I deleted a row at a time until I could see what my limit was.  I had to pare down 15 rows to a measly 3 rows.  Took me a while but I was able to see where the problem was.  Instead of being written into the Document-Level JS, my array was tied to the first combo box’s Keystroke event on the Field Level.  So when I multiplied the rows, that humongous list essentially had diarrhea.