7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 14, 2013 8:37 PM by A.T. Romano

Quality of DVD is very poor; help

froggy_cat1

Hi,

I'm new to Premiere Elements.  I have an HD Panasonic Camcorder.  I created several AVCHD videos and they look great.  I was told by a family member they do not have a blu-ray player, so I created one using the DVD format.  WOW, what a difference.  The video quality was very poor...I couldn't read the numbers on the soccer players.  I then tried the Panasonic software that came with the camera and it looks great....but, not as good as AVCHD.  I even tried something called DVDVideoSoft and it looks great.  I really would like to stick with Elements when having to burn a DVD.  Where do I start to figure out why my DVD quality is so poor?  The lines on the soccer field look like double lines.  I'm assuming I must have a setting not set correctly.  Suggestions?

Thanks, Tom

• 1. Re: Quality of DVD is very poor; help
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Yes, DVDs are very different than BluRay discs. They have less than one-fifth the resolution.

But if you're using the proper workflow for your video, it should look as good coming out of Premiere Elements as it does coming out of DVDVideoSoft or any other program.

What model of camcorder is your video coming from and what format and resolution is it?

Which version of the program are you using?

When you started your project, which project settings did you select? (You can see your project settings under the Edit menu.) If you selected the correct project settings, you will NOT see red lines above your clips when you add them to your timeline in Timeline mode. Is this the case in your project?

• 3. Re: Quality of DVD is very poor; help
            froggy_cat1 Level 1

Steve,