22 Replies Latest reply on Sep 19, 2013 4:49 AM by Peter Spier

Photoshop verses InDesign

Bauer58

As a photographer I currently only use Photoshop. I need to design a CD cover for a professional musician and was told I shouldn't use PS for the design. How is the learning curve in InDesign?  I have

never used the software before..any suggestions for reading, Tutorials..etc??

• 1. Re: Photoshop verses InDesign
          Steve Werner Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I highly recommend Sandee Cohen's Visual Quickstart Guide for InDesign. It's available from Amazon.com and everywhere at a very reasonable price for every version of InDesign. It should get you into InDesign for your project. (Of course, if I were to ask you "how's the learning curve for Photoshop...it's sort of like that!)

• 2. Re: Photoshop verses InDesign
            Eugene Tyson Adobe Community Professional & MVP

And to add to Steve - InDesign used to come with a lot of templates - but they were removed for whatever reason. However, they have been salvaged and available here

http://indesignsecrets.com/resources/indesign-templates

• 3. Re: Photoshop verses InDesign
              BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Normally I would agree, but in this case, I'd say go ahead and do it in

Photoshop. Just make sure to keep the text live and save the file as a PDF

to retain the vector data.

• 4. Re: Photoshop verses InDesign
                Bauer58 Level 1

Bob, So you think I should be fine?  I worry about the text.  What do you mean keep the text "live" 

• 5. Re: Photoshop verses InDesign

I mean don't rasterize the text layers. When you're done save as Photoshop PDF.

To be clear, however, InDesign is a far better choice for this type of project but if it's a one-off I don't see much benefit of going through the learning curve to essentially add a few paragraphs of text to an image.

• 6. Re: Photoshop verses InDesign
                    Bauer58 Level 1