4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 13, 2008 9:20 AM by patricktr

Active x code with Buttons

patricktr
      Hi - I hope someone can help. I'm new to this and experimenting with Fireworks and Dreamweaver using S & J Bardzell's excellent Studio MX 2004. By and large the book is working a treat however there are a couple of points slighly off the beaten track that are driving me mad:

i) I'm building up a design in Fireworks that has a few buttons on it - no problem. In the example in the book it suggests creating 'up' and 'over' states which works great however when I preview I get an internet security message warning me that the webpage has been restricted 'from running scripts or ActiveX controls...' (I'm using XP & IE7). I don't want this message so I thought maybe I could just delete the 'over' state on my buttons but I still get the message and what's more when I clear the message (i.e. allow scripts) the over state is blank, i.e. when you roll over the button it disappears ... what am I doing wrong, or how do you resolve this?

ii) I would like the webpage to be in the centre of the browser but I can't find a CSS that will make this happen - any ideas?

Thanks for your help; I hope -
      Regards.
      Patrick.
        • 1. Re: Active x code with Buttons
          pixlor Level 4
          i) Are you using Dreamweaver to create the rollover states? Because I don't get the security message from Dreamweaver's code.
          Insert > Image Object > Rollover image
          Also, check your browser settings to make sure you haven't disabled JavaScript, or set it to prompt. You could also try using Firefox to preview.

ii) Um....Heres the CSS and HTML from a template for a site I did. But...this isn't so simple. You're going to need to find info on designing CSS layouts.

CSS
          body {
          margin: 0; /* it's good practice to zero the margin and padding of the body element to account for differing browser defaults */
          padding: 0;