6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 22, 2013 6:22 PM by A.T. Romano

PE11 add a video (.MOV) to a project but getting a generic error?

ElwoodPQuatro

I'm new to Premiere Elements 11 and I am trying to add a video (.MOV) to a project but I am getting a generic error?  Have tried several times with the same failed result.  Any ideas?

• 1. Re: PE11 add a video (.MOV) to a project but getting a generic error?
          A.T. Romano Level 7

ElwoodPQuatro

What computer is your Premiere Elements 11 running on?

.MOV is just the file extension of your video file. We need to know the video and audio compressions involved as well as the frame size, frame rate, interlaced or progressive, pixel aspect ratio.

What camera is this .mov coming from?

If you do not know the properties of your .mov files, we can try to figure out what they are from the camera's video specifications. Best is to see the properties readout for the file from a program such as MediaInfo

http://mediaarea.net/en/MediaInfo

What is your project preset? Are you setting it yourself manually or are you letting the program make an automatic set? Please check Edit Menu/Project Settings/General Editing Mode, Timebase, Frame Size to see what has been set.

Let us start here. The answers will be in the details. Are you having any other problems with any other video format? Just this .mov"?

And, the classical question, do you have the latest version of QuickTime installed on your computer with Premiere Elements 11? A must do.

We will be watching for your follow up.

Thanks.

ATR

• 2. Re: PE11 add a video (.MOV) to a project but getting a generic error?
            ElwoodPQuatro Level 1

Hello ATR,

Thank you for the response!

Computer is an HP i7 running Win8.

Camera is a Kodak Easy Share Z650 (6.1Megapixel) still camera with the file being obtained thru the camera's video mode.

From the video's properties...

Item Type = MOV File

Attributes = N

Video Specs

Length = 00:00:21

Frame Width = 640