12 Replies Latest reply: Sep 23, 2013 8:33 PM by A.T. Romano RSS

Premiere Elements 10 Video Stops Playing

fsautter Community Member

I've been using PE10 since March of 2012 without issue. Sometime within the past 2 weeks a problem with the video transport has occured. Video and audio play fine but as soon as it tranitions to a still image the video holds on the image while the audio plays on and the video will not change to another image or video during playback unless I click on the preview window. I have reinstalled PE10 twice with no luck. I updated my OS and videocard drivers and ran several files through gspot that I learned about here on these forums. Nothing.

Does anyone have any idea why PE10 would suddenly malfunction after working just fine for a year and a half? My comp specs are as follows:

Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit SP1

Core i7 cpu (2.2 Ghz)

nvidia Geforce GTX 560M videocard

8G memory

1T storage (2 500GB Harddrives)

Any help resolving this issue would be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Premiere Elements 10 Video Stops Playing
          Steve Grisetti MVP

What model of camcorder is your video coming from and what format and resolution is it?

Have you ensured you have the latest version of Quicktime? Have you manually gone to Windows Update, selected Restore Hidden Updates and downloaded the updates that don't install automatically?

When did you last run Disk Cleanup and Disk Defragmenter?

• 2. Re: Premiere Elements 10 Video Stops Playing
            A.T. Romano Community Member

fsautter

Could you please include in your reply to SG what the pixel dimensions are for your stills? And, are these with raw, jpg, or other format?

And, is this happening in just one project, or is it happening even in a new project?

Thanks.

ATR

• 3. Re: Premiere Elements 10 Video Stops Playing

Hi Steve and A.T.