9 Replies Latest reply on Sep 24, 2013 9:43 AM by joe bloe premiere

Formatting Video for Broadcast TV

Lukabrazzi

Hello, wise and knowledgeable Adobe community.  I used to work as an engineer in broadcast TV back in the day, about 20 years ago.  Back then, we handled mostly beta and 3/4 inch analog videotape, though a digital cart machine was installed in my later years.  When we would receive tapes from production houses or bring down programs from satellite, everything had bars and tone at the head and each clip had a title slate and countdown.  This was so we could align the machines to output the correct color and audio levels.

Now, I produce videos for a governent agency and everything is digital.  We've begun producing pieces for release to local news outlets and when I do I'm sure to put all of the normal alignment features at the head of the file and properly slate all content.  However, I noticed that media submitted for broadcast from the Governor's press office has none of these features and simply begins right at the video.  I questioned my methods, but I also noticed that what they labled as "high resolution television quality" was very pixelated and not HD at all, so I began to question theirs instead.

Since I haven't worked at a TV station in quite a while, my question is: do broadcast media outlets still expect bars, tone, and slates to be included with video files, even if they're digital?  I know that when I worked in recording studios, the analog tape machines needed alignment, but the digital machines that soon came on the scene did not.  What's the proper way to format a digital video package intended for release to broadcast television outlets?

I want to make sure I'm not dating myself with old methodology, so any insight would be appreciated.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Formatting Video for Broadcast TV
          joe bloe premiere Level 5