4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 23, 2013 5:01 PM by Nancy OShea

How to position images

rickmorton Level 1

I'm new to DW. I thought, however, that if you have the grid turned on, you could just move things

around and position them where you want and the appropriate code would be written in the background.

I have a blank page with a grid. The cursor is blinking in the upper left hand corner. If I select Insert Image,

it goes there. I can't move it around and position it wherever I want. I thought this was the whole purpose

of a layout program like DW. Am I missing something?

• 1. Re: How to position images
          Nancy OShea Adobe Community Professional & MVP

rickmorton wrote:

I'm new to DW. I thought, however, that if you have the grid turned on, you could just move things around and position them where you want and the appropriate code would be written in the background.

You thought wrong.  DW is not a click & drag app like Photoshop or Illustrator.  In order to use DW effectively, you must have at least a working knowledge of HTML and it's relationship with CSS.  It's also very helpful to have a pre-built CSS layout or grid to jump start your projects.

Go to File > New > Blank page > HTML.  Select a layout from the 3rd panel & hit Create button.

To align elements on the page, use CSS floats and margins.

http://alt-web.com/DEMOS/3-CSS-boxes.shtml

Nancy O.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How to position images
            Herbert2001 Level 4

Nancy is correct. Dreamweaver is not a pure visual web layout tool, and at least some basic html and css knowledge on your part is expected.

That said, a couple of web layout apps do exist: if any coding seems daunting to you, try either Adobe Muse or Xara Webdesigner.

• 3. Re: How to position images
              rickmorton Level 1