10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 5, 2008 10:32 AM by JoeDaSilva

Fireworks Default size won't change

JimH430
      I'm new to Fireworks, so this may be dumb but....

Mac - CS3 Suite. OS 10.5.1, Dual GHz. - 4 GB RAM, Clean install of OS and CS3

My default size for a new document is set to 660 x 440 - 72 dpi. I know this because that is what Modify > Canvas says for Canvas size and Image size when I go up to it in the Menu. But when I open a new document/png, the size that comes up is 1800 x 116 - 300 dpi. Even the Tutorials for Fireworks CS3 (Lynda.com) say the default is 660 x 440 - 72 dpi.

I can not find anywhere to change the default, except in Modify>Canvas. It's not in preferences within the program. I have also dumped my preference files to the program and it didn't work. No matter what I do, I get a file that is 1800 x 116 - 300 dpi. I can change it from the New Document window but it's a pain to have to do this every time.

Do other people have this problem or am I not looking in the correct place within the program?

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Jim
        • 1. Re: Fireworks Default size won't change
          JoeDaSilva Level 4
          Do you mean it suggests that 1800x116 file size when you go to File -> New? You can change that value to whatever you want. It's going to take whatever is in your clipboard (at least on a pc) and use that for the suggestion.

Just like if you did a PrintScrn, then File -> New, it would suggest the size of the image in your clipboard, and in that case your screen resolution.
          • 2. Re: Fireworks Default size won't change
            JimH430 Level 1
            JoeyD thanks for the reply. I think there is more to this than just a simple fix. But to answer your question, there was nothing in my clipboard. I reset my Pram. also I never opened a file of that size.

I have since uninstalled and reinstalled the program and now it works as set up to 500 x 500 - 72 dpi.