6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 24, 2013 8:15 AM by MikeinNJ

Motion within Motion Question

MikeinNJ Level 1

Hi Everyone... I am just learning this program and I think I am getting it. So I made some motion stuff, pretty cool! I even integrated it into Adobe Muse....pretty nifty!!

Here is my question... let's say I want to make a bird and flap it's wings while it is moving. I can make the bird flap it's wings and I can move the bird, but how do I do both simotaneously. I tried searching threads here and maybe I am just phrasing the question wrong to figure it out without troubling any of you.

Any insight is appreciated!

Thanks!!!

• 1. Re: Motion within Motion Question
          MikeinNJ Level 1

UPDATE....... I am really close to making it happen! (I THINK) I am discovering "Convert to Symbol!!!"

Am I on the right track??

• 2. Re: Motion within Motion Question
            MikeinNJ Level 1

NAILED IT!!! For anyone wondering the same thing.... it is simple!! It is all about Convert to Symbol, you essentially create a timeline within a timeline.

In my particular case I had a butterfly I created in Illustrator. I made two alternate versions with different wing positions. I moved the images into Edge Animate EXACTLY on top of each other.

Each image has a time line with DISPLAY on/off, and they alternate each other exactly creating the perfect motion of wing flapping. I highlight the two images and then CONVERT TO SYMBOL which then gives them a new timeline that I used to move them around the page. For some adding fun, when they landed into the position I added a curved easment so they spring a little when they land... IT LOOKS AWESOME!!!!!!!!

Thank you ADOBE!!!

• 3. Re: Motion within Motion Question
              resdesign Adobe Community Professional & MVP

This is exactly what I did! Flapping is made with display on/off. then this symbol is inserted into another symbol and made to move on an x axis. Result: flying above the landscape.