27 Replies Latest reply on Sep 26, 2013 10:36 PM by Steven L. Gotz

Why are these basic actions so hard?

rtalber Level 1

I'm new to CS6 but not to video editing tools. I'm shocked that some basic controls are either missing or very hard to find. Can anybody tell me whether there's a convenient way to:

• Enter a number (e.g. "00;00;04;00") to specify the duration of a clip or set of clips? I can't find a place to do it in the Effect Controls window.
      • Widen or narrow the timeline display without using the awkward Ctrl-+ keystrokes or manipulating the tiny slider control below the timeline? Perhaps an easy gesture?
      • Select a very narrow (short) clip when hovering over clip only produces trim cursors? I don't want to expand and compress the timeline just to do this.

Thank you!

• 1. Re: Why are these basic actions so hard?
          joe bloe premiere Level 5
          • Enter a number (e.g. "00;00;04;00") to specify the duration of a clip or set of clips? I can't find a place to do it in the Effect Controls window.

Not sure what this means.

• Widen or narrow the timeline display without using the awkward Ctrl-+ keystrokes or manipulating the tiny slider control below the timeline? Perhaps an easy gesture?

You can Alt+Roll the mouse wheel.

• Select a very narrow (short) clip when hovering over clip only produces trim cursors? I don't want to expand and compress the timeline just to do this.

Very irritating, and the source of lots of complaints on release.

Unfortunately, this is unlikely to change in CS6.

CS6 will get bug fixes and security updates. but I feel sure

this would be in the category of a 'new feature'.

The consolation is that it is better in CC7*.

* Premiere Pro CC (7.0.1)

note:

Be sure you are updated to the latest version (CS6.0.5).

Within Premiere:  Help > Updates...

• 2. Re: Why are these basic actions so hard?
            rtalber Level 1

Thank you very much for the Alt+mouse wheel shortcut!!!