5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 15, 2008 1:00 AM by chris.huston.t10

Simple Database connectivity with Flex?

keith.hughitt Level 1
      Hello all,

I am new to Flex, and was hoping someone might be able to help point me in the right direction. I have been reading around on how to connect Flex applications to a database backend, but I'm still not clear on how it is normally done. Is this possible using only the standalone free Flex SDK? Or do you have to use additional software (e.g. Flex data services)? Can it be done without using any of the proprietary software?

Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,
      Keith
        • 1. Re: Simple Database connectivity with Flex?
          emesol0 Level 1
          I think you will need to install flex data services; make a Java project using flex builder; then create an <mx:remoteObject> object which will interact with ordinary Java classes that do all the database connectivity issue.

• 2. Re: Simple Database connectivity with Flex?
            chris.huston.t10 Level 3
            Flex Data Services is not necessary for connecting to a database. You can use HTTPService calls to PHP or other scripting language such as .net to connect to a database of your choice. You can also use remoting with AMFPHP which is free and quite easy and efficient to work with. I use Flex/PHP/MySql all the time and they work great together.

Vygo
            • 3. Re: Simple Database connectivity with Flex?
              keith.hughitt Level 1
              Thanks you both for the advice. Do you think you might be able to explain
              what the difference between using HTTPService calls to PHP vs. Remoting with AMFPHP?
              Also, will it ever be possible to handle database connectivity using just the Flex SDK? E.g. something