3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 26, 2013 6:31 PM by joe bloe premiere

Premiere Pro CC: Maximising performance and issues with blending

WylieWoo

I am a newbie so apologies if I get some of the terminology wrong. I'm somewhat technically savvy, to a point but may need some things explained simply.

I have just started on my second project and upgraded to CC to access the Lumetri effects. The specs for my Mac are below. As you can see it's not an especially powerful computer but I had no issues with stability or speed on my first project, which was in PP CS6. I've looked at the forums and help documentation but I'm hoping the forums can offer some tips regarding a couple of issues/questions that I couldn't find answers to.

Maximising performance

When I bought the computer last year I didn't expect to be editing video so I didn't get more than than standard graphics card. Big mistake. So, no Mercury for me. From what I can tell from reading there is no way around this and I am not in a position to buy a new computer right now. Apart from not having the wonders of Mercury, the system is stable (though I haven't done much assembly on the timeline yet and there will be a lot of colouring and blending etc - the final project will be 6 minutes).

So, is there anything I can or should do to make the system perform as well as possible? Scratch disks (I only have one external hard drive and a couple of USB sticks available)?Memory configuration? Have all other software closed? Plug-ins? Will I need to render short sections of the sequence to see the application of any effects? As I fill the timeline and add effects, can I expect the system to start slowing badly? Should I abandon the idea of trying After Effects on elements of this project? Should I just go back to CS6?