6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 29, 2013 7:37 PM by dreamweaver70

Responsive Images

dreamweaver70 Level 1

I have a 900x300 images(s) on a JQuery Cycle 2 Image Slider. They look pretty good in desk view. When I switch to mobile view, they look bad, (small  image-flat with little height.) I assume part of reason is becuase of the size of image (elongated), but thinking I have to somehow change image for mobile view, and/or use media queries.

Is it possible to make a long 900x300 banner type image look good (not so flat and long) in mobile view? Seems there is nothing Photoshop can do (crop, resize) to make this look good in mobile view?

I am still learning CSS, HTML, and now this 'mobile first' design method--which kinda confuses me. I find myself trying to develop in desk view first, seems more logical, easier?  Seems like whenever I say for example, change the image source in mobile to another image to replace a larger image from desk view, the new mobile image I insert then changes the desktop image.

Does it make any difference when building a responsive page, whether I insert the image for a particular platform, in a particular order?

My best experince with responsive images is: making a div on desktop to my desired %width. Inseting a 480x300 image ( image larger than the div). The picture fills the div with a given % great on desktop, and expands appropriately to full image 480x300 on mobile?--Seems to work good, with no need to swap images?

Are there any general rules / advice/ simplifications or best methods for dealing with responsive design and images?

I still have not grasped how / when / where to swap images in responsive design.

How do most designers deal with responsive images and multiple platforms?

Thanks for any help

• 1. Re: Responsive Images
          Nancy OShea Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I do not specify any height or width attributes for the images themselves.  I use the CSS property of :

img {max-width: 100%}