14 Replies Latest reply on Oct 2, 2013 11:22 AM by Sheree Bandukwala

Hard Drive Configuration

Sheree Bandukwala Level 1

I am ready to edit my independent feature length film utilizing Adobe Creative Cloud applications. I would like to have the option to render across the formats if necessary depending on distribution protocol.

My main concern is hard drive configuration. As of now Drive C: which stores the operating system and Adobe programs is 5900 RPM.  Is that going to be a real problem during editing?

If I purchase a third hard drive what would be the best hard drive configuration given the two existing hard drives I already own?

Any suggestions on any other hardware would be greatly appreciated, as I am a filmmaker not a computer technical person so hoping I can get my system up and running as stable as possible.

• Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional Service Pack 1 Ver. 6.1.7601
      • CPU: Intel Core i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40 GHz Driver Ver. 6.1.7600.16385 LGA 1155
      • CPU Cooling Fan: Cooler Master 212EVO
      • RAM: G.Skill 16MB
      • Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68-V-LE BIOS Ver. 08.00.10
      • Case: Cooler Master HAF 922
      • Graphic Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX560 Ti
      • Internal Hard Drive 1: 2TB Seagate Barracuda Green, ST2000DL003-9VT166, 64MB Cache, 5900 RPM,     ATA/ATAPI-8, Stores-Operating System and Programs
      • Internal Hard Drive 2: 2TB Seagate Barracuda, ST2000DM001-1CHI64, 64MB Cache, 7200 RPM, ATA/ATAPI-8, New just installed.
      • External Hard Drive 3: 3TB Seagate Barracuda SRD00F2-1D7AP2-500

Thank you, guys so much!

• 1. Re: Hard Drive Configuration
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I have never heard of 5900rpm... do you mean 5400rpm?

OS and programs on a "green" drive means everything will load a bit slow, but you MIGHT be OK editing with projects and video files on a 7200rpm drive