6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 17, 2008 3:50 AM by Newsgroup_User

How would you draw a soccer goal?

janwayne69
      Hi guys,
      this might be really basic for the pro's out there, but I'm just a beginner with Fireworks.

Basically, I'm trying to draw a soccer goal (at least the frame of it) making it look like metal. There are styles that provide this sort of finish in Fireworks, however, the problem is that I cannot come up with a shape for the purpose. If I just draw three lines (post, crossbar, post), and apply metal finish to them, they look cut off and not very nice. But a rectangular box obviously has the bottom line too much.

How do you do that??

Thanks for any tips,

Jan
        • 1. Re: How would you draw a soccer goal?
          pixlor Level 4
          Hmm.

I did a Google search for images of soccer goals. I guess it depends on how stylized you want your image to be, or how realistic. I think a fairly realistic image would be on the difficult side.

The tricky thing is that you're trying to represent something that is made of pipes (usually round), so you need to indicate this volume with shading. The shading on the crossbar won't be the same as the shading on the uprights. I also noted the welded joints where the crossbar attaches to the uprights. Somehow, you need to indicate these seams. Another thing that might help you is to use an angle which is not straight on. Perspective enhances realism. Many of the images I saw showed goals that have more pieces than just the uprights and crossbar, either at the top or the bottom to hold the net. Then, of course, there's the net. These details will help make your image look more realistic, and more like a goal. The metallic finish would really be the last thing to add realism. You need to get the shapes right, first.

Before trying to draw a goal, study real ones. Here are a couple of different goals:
          goal post from rectangular pipe
          goal post from round pipe