4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 3, 2013 5:20 AM by O Olsson

Targeted Sorting and Page Extraction

O Olsson

I am a teacher that regularly scans student assignments into PDF files. These files are randomly sorted pages that consist of the entire class' work. The goal is to sort the PDF document according to some tag that identifies individual page(s) as belonging to a particular student. Currently the only way I know to "tag" the pages is to manually create bookmarks named for the student but, there seems no way to sort the pages by bookmark. Can this be done with Javascript? The ultimate goal is to be able to automate the process of sorting the pages by student (once they are tagged) and extract each student's work and finally save those individual files into the student's folder. Is this possible?

I'm currently using Acrobat X Pro on a Mac with OS X 10.8.

• 1. Re: Targeted Sorting and Page Extraction
          try67 MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Yes, in principle that would be possible to do with a script. However, such a script is not simple to develop for someone without experience in this field.

Also, there are other options for tagging the pages, such as using annotations (commenting tools).

And if the pages are not hand-written it might even be possible to apply OCR (text recognition) to them and do the entire process automatically, without having to tag each page (range) manually.

• 2. Re: Targeted Sorting and Page Extraction
            O Olsson Level 1