9 Replies Latest reply on Oct 15, 2013 6:10 PM by DevinLJ

HTML Export Content Ordering Problem

DevinLJ

I've inherited a collection of InDesign files and PDF files that have been exported from them.  I'd like to convert everything to HTML.  The InDesign export process is working fine for most files, but for a few, I am getting my content's order re-arranged.  One problem file is a large file that contains a series of letters.  The output file contains 3 DIVs within the BODY tag.  The first one contains the (Correct) first page, then the second two DIVs each contains a seemingly arbitrary collection of these letters with "jumps" in the ordering (10 letters might be in the correct order, then we "jump" to a previous set of letters or a much latter set of letters).  The PDF export doesn't have this problem.  I'm a newbie to InDesign. Thanks for any ideas for where I should look for the source of this problem.

• 1. Re: HTML Export Content Ordering Problem
          Michael Witherell Adobe Community Professional

It will tend to export frames from left to right and from top to bottom of page. Is that the order you see on the affected pages?

• 2. Re: HTML Export Content Ordering Problem
            BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Are you using the articles panel? If not, that would explain it.

• 3. Re: HTML Export Content Ordering Problem
              pooja2087 Adobe Employee

Hi Devin,

For HTML export there are three modes for ordering content. This option is avilable in Content order section in General Tab of HTML export:

1. Based on Page Layout : This is the default one and the one you are using right now. The objects appear from the top left and the appearance may not match ID in this case.

2. Based on Articles Panel: Here you put your content in articles and then depending on the order the objects appear in Articles, the same order applies to HTML export.

Please refer this link to get a better idea about how Articles Panel works: