16 Replies Latest reply on Oct 11, 2013 11:19 AM by A.T. Romano

Cannot get VOB files from home movie DVD in drive.

DSwiney Level 1

I am a brand new user, and this is my first project. I had home movies converted to DVD, which I now want to edit. I am trying to "add media" directly from the DVD in the drive.

• 1. Re: Cannot get VOB files from home movie DVD in drive.
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

You don't say which version of the program you're using but:

Put the DVD in PC's DVD drive and then Premiere Elements' Add Media/From PC DVD to rip the video from the video into your Premiere Elements project.

• 2. Re: Cannot get VOB files from home movie DVD in drive.
            DSwiney Level 1

I appreciate the response, but that is exactly what I am doing. I am using Premiere Elements 11 for the first time.  I put the video DVD in the drive and under "Add Media," I choose "from computer/DVD drive," but the file never imports.  It just "spins" forever, until I manually stop it. It is also not saving the video to my hard drive, which I thought it was supposed to do as part of this process. 

• 3. Re: Cannot get VOB files from home movie DVD in drive.
              A.T. Romano Level 7

DSwiney

There have been several threads recently which appear to have overlooked the details of the Video Importer dialog Save In, and VOB ripping has failed.

If you rip VOBs from the DVD-VIDEO on DVD disc for the first time and you leave the Video Importer Save In at the default "Videos/My Videos", your VOBs will be saved at that location. The VOBs will have the VTS_01_1.VOB as well as additional files of this type depending on the length of the video. When you go to do VOB ripping from subsequent DVD-VIDEO on the next DVD disc, you are likely to run into a message something like "cannot do, files are already imported" when you know they have not for this particular DVD.