24 Replies Latest reply on Jul 4, 2014 10:39 PM by John T Smith

I don't understand how to get audio from itunes into my project

BeeW

i am new to elements but have some basic understanding, but I can't get any audio into my project from itunes, just keep getting an error.

• 1. Re: I don't understand how to get audio from itunes into my project
          A.T. Romano Level 7

BeeW

What version of Premiere Elements are you using and on what computer operating system is it running?

Are you dealing with iTunes plus music or its previous digital management rights type?

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1711

What is the file extension of the iTune music that you have?

Depending on the circumstances, some have had to deal with DMR if that is the type you have. Some have converted

the file, if appropriate, to .mp3 or .wav. The .wav seems to be the format preferred. It would appear that the conversion to

different formats can be done in iTunes.

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1550

Please review the above and let us know the outcome.

Thanks.

ATR

• 2. Re: I don't understand how to get audio from itunes into my project
            BeeW Level 1

thank you

i am using elements 11 on windows 8

i have tried to convert the file as per your suggestion but it won't let me as it is protected. the audio format is AAC protected M4p

• 3. Re: I don't understand how to get audio from itunes into my project
              the_wine_snob Level 9

If an audio-editing program, such as the free Audacity, cannot rip that music from iTunes, perhaps the "old fashioned way" will work for you.