5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 3, 2008 9:07 AM by peterent

Adding vector shapes to GUI

migthegreek
      Hi, I'm new to Flex but I come from Flash and have a good knowledge of ActionScript. I'm just not sure how to apply it at the moment.

I'm building a GUI and I just want to add a vector rectangle or anything to a panel. I tried putting this in a Script tag but I have no idea how I add the child to the Panel in the MXML (if that is even possible).

import flash.display.*;
      var square:Sprite = new Sprite();
      square.graphics.lineStyle(1, 0);
      square.graphics.beginFill(0xFF0000);
      square.graphics.drawRect(500, 100, 100, 100);
      square.graphics.endFill();
      addChild(square);

I just get told "Access of undefined property square" on all the square lines, or if I use this.addChild(square) I don't get told that, but instead I get told I can't use this in a static method (how is it a static method?).

It's kind of confusing without an apparent root level at which the code starts. I must be missing something.
        • 1. Re: Adding vector shapes to GUI
          peterent Level 2
          The code you wrote needs to be in a function that gets called by the Flex framework. It looks like you put the code inside of a class, but not inside of a function.

In the Flex framework you should put your code in 2 places:

First, make sure your class extends a Flex framework class, like UIComponent or Panel. Then you should override the createChildren() function where you can create your Sprite:

override protected function createChildren() : void
          {
          super.createChildren(); // allow the super class function to run
          // create the Sprite
          // use addChild() to put it on the component's display list. See caveat below
          }