8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 23, 2013 11:06 AM by amphreded

CS6: Exporting to Interactive PDF Freezes

amphreded

Hi guys, I'm relatively new with InDesign and currently I'm having a problem with exporting to interactive pdf. My version is CS6 8.0.1

I'm drafting a booklet for a school and each page looks something like this:

Srivikorn1.png

The picture here shows page  28-29 (top) and 30-31 (bottom). Each of these are linked AI files. These AI files have linked jpegs or psd files in them, with types and basic vector objects.

Then I tried exporting to interactive pdf -->

Srivikorn2.png

however, InDesign keeps freezing around these page ranges:

Srivikorn4.png

I cannot click cancel nor anything except force quitting InDesign. Tried again, same thing happened. I thought maybe I was too hasty so I went to grab dinner which took about 30 minutes. Walked back into my room, InDesign never completed the export, so I force it to quit again.

After a few times, I'd thought the problem could be with the AI links in page range 30-31 where it keeps getting stuck. I experimented by deleting 4 linked AI files on top of page 30-31:

Srivikorn6.png

And now I can export to interactive PDF successfully. I opened up the pdf with Acrobat Reader and everything seems normal.

So I'd figure that there's a problem with one (or more) of the four removed linked AI files. But just to be sure, I tried exporting it again [i]without the 4 linked files[/i]. This time though, the same problem occured - InDesign freezes while exporting PDF and I can't do nothing but force quit the program.

I then tried exporting page 1-29 by itself (the range which seems to be fine) multiple times - no problem. I've exported page 1-29 five successive times in a roll with no problem.

Then I tried exporting page 30-35 (the rest of the book), then here's what confused me even more. I can export it successfully the first time. The second time though, InDesign freezes again.