4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 16, 2013 11:11 AM by Szalam

How to temporarily mute the audio (not just reduce volume) on the timeline?

Angularian

I'm new to Adobe After Effects and trying to adjust audio levels on the timeline using keypoints. This works great for db levels but the maximum level that can be set is -48db and this is still allowing some audio to "bleed through". I can mute the audio for the whole track, but that's not what I want -  I want to mute the track at certain kepoints on the timeline.

I can't see any way to do this in After Effects.  What have I missed?  Can anyone advise on how to best achieve this?

• 1. Re: How to temporarily mute the audio (not just reduce volume) on the timeline?
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I really don't recommend using After Effects to do any audio work. I usually use Premiere for that and then import a WAV file of the audio into AE or do the work in Premiere after rendering the AE comp.

That being said, split the layer with the audio and mute the sections you don't want.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How to temporarily mute the audio (not just reduce volume) on the timeline?
            Angularian Level 1

I'm sure you're probably right but I have done more "studying" on After Effects and it may be my ignorance but after Sony Vegas Pro I'm finding Premiere a painful, awful piece of software to use. Most of what i'm used to doing is using keypoints directly in the timeline and Premiere seems to be about taking long clips and assembling them rather than lots of tiny clips and then assembling them so they match audio properly. Since I use a lot of lower thirds, images, titles etc I spend all my time applying Transforms and Effects and positioning in After Effects where Premiere doesn't seem to offer me that functionality.