8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 20, 2013 7:53 AM by oasel

Duik tools, character scaling and project set up...

oasel Level 1

Hi,

I'm working in AE CC on a project including two characters rigged with Duik tools and controlled by a few nulls. I rigged each one in a separate composition. My plan was to copy the character layers  into a main background comp and keep it all in there when I animate. The problem is that the characters are bigger than the background comp and when I try to scale them down the IK goal layers made by the duik script won't scale proportionally. Is there a way around that, or another way to set things up? How would you guys do?  I rahter not jump between comps when I animate. Is there a way to keep the characters in pre-comps and still control everything from the main comp. Can you do it completely with expression controls? Or some other way I'm not thinking about? I'm pretty new to this so I'm sure there must be some simple way. I've watched lots of tutorials on how to rig characters with Duik tools, but haven't found any good ones adressing the part when you put it all together.

• 1. Re: Duik tools, character scaling and project set up...
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

With expressions there is no "simple way". If you don't know how to create or modify them, don't use them.  I'm sure this sounds rude, but that's what it comes down to. As it stands, your best bet is to simply lock the viewers and use them side by side. Everything else would require to se the full project, be in the mood to look at it and posibly get paid to make the necessary modifications 'cos few people will have the inclination to spend their own valuable time fixing such potentially complicated setups...

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Duik tools, character scaling and project set up...
            oasel Level 1