11 Replies Latest reply on Oct 21, 2013 7:37 AM by Ann Bens

Problem with jpeg images imported from Illustrator

bonini9

Hi, i am kind of new with Premire and video, though have experience in web design and coding, but i have noticed a weird problem with premiere pro cs 5.5  when i  import jpeg pictures and put them as intro before the video that where done in adobe illustrator and have vectors and stuff, the quality of the image gets pretty bad and blurry...i searched through the internet looking for clues on what to do like changing to png, tiff formats but nothing has helped so far....any ideas on what to do. So when i import jpeg,png images from illustrator (that have vectors or illustrations) do i have to do something special with it, or import it in some special format??? i would appreciate the help.

This is how the image looks on youtube:

Anyway here is the video with its poor image quality. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o_oMNzXAZ8Y&feature=youtu.be

foro.jpg

This is how it looks originally before putiing it, in premiere pro cs 5.5

Anyway here is the video with its poor image quality. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o_oMNzXAZ8Y&feature=youtu.be

intro2.jpg

THANX guys would appreciate the help!!!

• 1. Re: Problem with jpeg images imported from Illustrator
          Level 4

hiya.

video likes 72 dpi ( though some will say it doesnt matter .. thats a long story ). basically video 'shows' 72 dpi ( basically what the monitor resolution is...typically 72 dpi ).  As you know from print and dimensions, there is a relative sorta thing with byte count ( file size in bytes ), ppi ( I usually say dpi but in video its ppi ....same thing basically )..., and dimensions ( width x height ).

soooo , as you know in print and web stuff...there is a relationship between number of dots or pixels, dimensions in inches or pixels, and overall byte count of file size....

That said, in "print" it is usually best to go with 300dpi.. In video it is best to go with 72 ppi.....