6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 20, 2013 11:55 AM by Rick Gerard

What's better

jay226 Level 1

For cgi on/with live action video

After effects cinema 4d(which version) maya 3ds max

I'm a beginner. I have no experience or knowledge

• 1. Re: What's better
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If you are just a beginner I would suggest starting with AE, take a look at the free version of C4D that comes with CC and go from there. To become a true proficient at creating CGI effects and integrating them in a film you are looking a probably a minimum of 1000 hours of experimentation and education. This stuff is not easy to do well.

What exactly are you trying to do? Recreating scenes from Gravity or Iron Man is going to take you many months if not years. Adding some 3D text to a video will take you a few days. There's huge education in how visual effects are planned and executed that transcends software. Software is only the hammer, your ideas are the lumber, but it takes a plan to build something worthwhile.

If you want to experiment with creating 3D elements try blender.org. It's free and extremely capable of amazing stuff. Anything you learn in Blender except for where the menu items are, can be transferred to any other 3D app. The tools will feel different in your hand, but the skill and knowledge required to be successful are the same.

• 2. Re: What's better
            Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

That's like asking which car to buy before you even have gone through driver's school. Watch "Making ofs" , read articles, watch tutorials, get to work and hone your skills. Without hard work and lots of knowledge even the best 3D program on this planet only produces ugly renderings. The rest realyl doesn't matter in any way...

Mylenium

• 3. Re: What's better
              jay226 Level 1