8 Replies Latest reply: Oct 25, 2013 4:26 AM by Jacob Bugge RSS

Making a stamp-like perforation....

Marc Verbeek

I'm a relative novice in Illustrator. As a matter of fact, I'm using InDesign to make a logo, and than export in to EPS. This must be quite insulting to you guys!

But here's the thing. I try to make a stamp-like perforation on this attached logo, but I'm running into some problems:

- the perforation holes must be transparent

- as you can see, the gap between the holes in the corner are a bit awkward...

- when I watch the logo in Illustrator, sometimes a thin hairline is seen at the borders of the frame.

- how can I turn the font into outlines in Illustrator (in InDesgin it's easy).

I hope someone can help me. There must be some trick to help me out.

P.S. Is it possible to add the "original"Illustrator file to a discussion like this?

Kind regards!

Marc Verbeek

ScreenShot002.jpg

• 1. Re: Making a stamp-like perforation....
          pixxxel schubser Community Member

Type > Create Outlines

The stamp you can build like this (look carefully):

Stamp1.png

Stamp2.png

Stamp3.png

Stamp4.png

Stamp5.png

At the end you should Object > Expand Appearance or Object > Flatten Transparency ... and use the pathfinder for the final result.

Have fun

• 2. Re: Making a stamp-like perforation....
            Marc Verbeek Community Member

Dear pixxxel schubster,

Thanks for your reply! I'm afraid you go a bit too fast for... I'm less than a novice I'm afraid. But maybe it will help when I show you the file, you can follow the link below.

This logo is based on another logo without the holes so they both have to measure exactly 60 x 35 mm, the perforation holes are 2,5 mm in diameter:

- but they have to be transparent. So when placed upon a coloured background i.e. a photograph, the holes must fill with the background colour