8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 29, 2007 8:41 PM by Kevin D. Wright

Dynamic Accordion 2-Levels deep

Kevin D. Wright
      Hello,

I'm relatively new to FLEX and I am having a problem referencing a dynamically named UI object to add a child to.
      I am building a menu with an accordion, adding tab sections using the addChild method, and then trying to add link buttons within each tab section. No matter how I try to reference the dynamically named tab section, nothing seems to work....
      any help would be appreciated.

A graphic of my layout can be viewed here to better understand the problem I am trying to solve.
      click here for graphic

There are 3 panels and empty accordians (hardcoded in the mxml) ,
      I retrieve from a database a list of tabs I want to display, loop through and add to the accordian in which it belongs.

This works up to this point and adds all the children correctly, but trying to add children (link buttons) to those newly added children (tab sections) is where I'm tripping up....

my code follows;

private function getSubCategoryTypes_ResultHandler(event:ResultEvent):void{

acSubCategoryTypes = ArrayCollection(event.result);

for ( var i:int=0; i < acSubCategoryTypes.length; i++ ) {
      var iPanel:int = acSubCategoryTypes .PanelSort;
      var iTab:int = acSubCategoryTypes
      .TabSort;
      var tabID:String = 'TB'+ iPanel + "-" + iTab;
      accordion_addChild(this['Ac'+ iPanel], acSubCategoryTypes .TabTitle, tabID)
      }
      }

private function accordion_addChild(accordion:Accordion, childTitle:String, tabID:String):void{

var vbox:VBox = new VBox();
      vbox.label = childTitle;
      vbox.id = tabID;
      vbox.percentWidth = 100;
      vbox.percentHeight = 100;
      accordion.addChild(vbox);

// this is where I call the function to get the list of links I want to populate the accordian sections with.
      createLinks(childTitle); //
      }

private function createLinks(tabName:String):void {