3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 30, 2013 7:25 AM by gkaiseril

Null vs. zero vs. ""

IDOTRhonda Level 1

I have a form with calculated fields that I am struggling with because sometimes the user will enter a zero (and they should).

I have little experience with javascript so please excuse my ignorance.  I have been creating adobe forms with Acrobat Pro which originally resided in Microsoft Excel.  These are forms that are filled out by our employees and turned in with project files.  Many forms have multiple rows, a few simple calcuations and a running total.

In many cases I have used something like this:

// Get field value

var v1 = getField("LengthRisersToday.1").value;

var v2 =
      getField("LengthRisersToDate.0").value;

if (v1==0) event.value = "";

else event.value = (v1 + v2);

because I don't want the answer to be repeated on every single row when an entry has only been made on the first row (or the first few rows). 

This time my solution has turned into a problem...Length of Risers Today may sometimes be zero and my "if" won't work if someone enters a zero.  It also resets the running total.

This is what I want:

Today To Date

This is what I get:

TodayTo Date

I have tried adjusting this to

if (v1=="") event.value = ""; 

if (v1==null) event.value = ""; 

I also tried a custom validation script:

// Get field value

var v1 = getField("LengthRisersToday.1").value;

if (v1=="") event.value = "";

and I tried

if(event.value == 0) {

event.value = "";

} else {

event.value = event.value

}

Nothing is working for me and I feel I am completely off track.

Thanks for any advise!

• 1. Re: Null vs. zero vs. ""
          gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional

You have to understand about the different types of values. 

You can have a value that has the type of "string", for example "one".

You can have a value that has the type of "number", for example 1.