10 Replies Latest reply on Nov 14, 2013 12:49 PM by A.T. Romano

DVD Quality Issues

Jesse_Martinez(Calvary)

Hello All,

I am brand new to editing and have recently been assigned to edit sermons for my church. I receive the footage, trim, place message titles, and then create a DVD.

Here is my workflow

1. Take the video and convert to MP4 (from .ifo or .dvd)

2. Edit in Adobe Premiere Elements 12 (I call it AP12 for short)

3. Convert to MPEG and save

I do this for 3 separate sermons. Then I open a new project and COMBINE all the edited videos to make a DVD. When the DVD comes out, it looks exteremly poor. The video I edit in AP12 looks excellent until I move it in AP12 again to make the full DVD. I have tried to render and it still looks the same; grainy and low quality. How do I fix this?

My apologies if I am not detailed enough, this is all new as I mentioned.

I am on a deadline of 11/8/2013 so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Jesse_Martinez(Calvary)

• 1. Re: DVD Quality Issues
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

>brand new to editing

The Tutorial Links Page http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1275830 may help

>Take the video and convert to MP4 (from .ifo or .dvd)

Does that mean that someone else has already edited the video and made a DVD, and you are then combining completed projects into a new project?

>Convert to MPEG and save

If you are starting from a completed DVD (which is highly compressed compared to the original camera video) and you are converting to MP4 (another compressed format) and finally to MPEG which compresses again you now have THREE levels of compression

Is there no way you can obtain the original camera video?

Ripping a VOB to edit http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1322647 shows what may be a better way

• 2. Re: DVD Quality Issues
            A.T. Romano Level 7

Jesse_Martinez(Calvary)

Let us approach this systematically to sort out matters.