3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 17, 2014 6:00 PM by Kevin-Monahan

CC 7.1: Ridiculous render times since upgrading to mavericks

ChristophBenfey

This is my first time editing a project in Premiere Pro CC7.1 since upgrading to Mavericks. Playback was running very glitchy while trying to play a very simple composition imported from AE. Just a basic motion graphic, nothing too heavy. My computer froze and reset 2 times while trying to play it before rendering, so I am now rendering the sequence to see if this will solve the issue and it's rendering 1 frame every 15-20 seconds.

In the past this same operation would have taken 10-15 seconds total to render.

I'm using a brand new MacBook Pro Retina 15" 2.7GHz with 16GB of RAM.

Has anyone else had this issue and/or any suggestions on how to fix it?

Thanks in advance!!

• 2. Re: CC 7.1: Ridiculous render times since upgrading to mavericks
          gardnersirhc Level 1

I have been seeing this and a wide variety of similar problems - the Adobe-Mac community appears to be exploding on the issue of CC and Macs/Mavericks esp. in the last few weeks. A ton of problems people are having after a recent update of Adobe CC program or programs. I see blame being tossed everywhere, and this doesn't look like it's going to die down and go away by itself.

Just my .02, but...

1. Every major OS upgrade is going to throw off problems with 3rd party (and even 1st party) software as developers identify and squash bugs and incompatibilities - this can take months to work itself out. And is a predicable outcome from having multiple programmers working independently on anything that works together.
          2. Rolling back an OS is often not a viable option. Rolling back a software update is usually easier. Messing about with lots of moving parts can easily compound a problem. So can skipping a step in a complicated set of instructions or following the wrong set of instructions.