7 Replies Latest reply on Nov 28, 2013 10:25 AM by gkaiseril

Prevent field from displaying an average until all inputs defined

Nick in Toronto

Within an Acrobat form, I am calculating the average of 6 values. Each value is selected from a different dropdown menu. The default value of each dropdown menu is 0. The average is displayed in a text field.

I want the average field to remain blank until all dropdowns have a value greater than zero. Also, if one of the dropdown values changes back to 0, I want the average menu to revert to " ".

I am new to Javascript. After many hours of playing around with loops, arrays, "some" methods, if/else etc., I am raising the white flag and looking for assistance.

I would greatly appreciate some advice on how to code this.

Thanks - Nick

• 1. Re: Prevent field from displaying an average until all inputs defined
          George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Try something like the following as the custom calculation script for the field that calculates the average:

// Custom calculation script for text field

(function () {

// Initialize variables

var i, v, sum = 0, nCount = 0;

// Loop through the six dropdowns...

for (i = 1; i < 7; i += 1) {

// Get the current field value

v = getField("dropdown" + i).value;

// Add value to the sum and increment the counter if the question has been answered and isn't 0

if (v != 0) {

sum += v;

nCount += 1;

}

}

// Set this field's value

if (nCount == 6) {

// Set to the average

event.value = sum / nCount;

} else {

// Set to blank if all questions haven't been answered

event.value = "";

}

})();

This code assumes the dropdown fields are named "dropdown1", "dropdown2", ..."dropdown6". You'll have to edit the code to match the fields names you're using.

• 2. Re: Prevent field from displaying an average until all inputs defined
            John Frederick Chionglo Level 1

Hi Nick in Toronto,