6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 30, 2007 1:39 PM by fi2itoxlay

updated XML not showing between states

fi2itoxlay
      Hi Gurus,

I am fairly new to AS3/Flex and would like your help with an issue I am having. I am implementing a Flex 2 project that uses two custom components in different states (i.e. State 1 uses component A. State 2 uses component B). In these two components, they are referencing the same XML object that is specified in a seperate file (i.e. Global.as) that is included in the main application file.

Here's my problem. If I switch between the two states making changes to the XML object, these changes are not shown in the states unless I force a new databind() by setting the dataprovider to the updated XML object. I could just do this everytime the user switches the state, however, I don't think this is an efficient way to solve the problem.

I was wondering if you guys could help me find a better way to solve this problem. Could we set an event that triggers the reseting of the XML databind ONLY when the XML object is changed?

Thanks.
      - Lay
        • 1. Re: updated XML not showing between states
          atta707 Level 2
          With a disclaimer that I'm not a guru, let me ask you if your XML variable is declared as [Bindable]?

ATTA
          • 2. Re: updated XML not showing between states
            fi2itoxlay Level 1
            Yes. The following is what is in the Global.as file.

[Bindable]
            public var carsXML:XML = new XML(
            <cars>
            <car make="Acura" model="RSX"/>
            <car make="Toyota" model="Camry"/>
            </cars>
            );

The two states are either adding more "car" nodes or deleting them. I need the screens to reflects these changes to the XML object.

Thanks in advance!
            - Lay
            • 3. Re: updated XML not showing between states
              atta707 Level 2
              Okay that's good.