3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 6, 2013 12:13 PM by kglad

X Y coordinates are different in each symbol?

CE_1234

Hello,

First, let me start by saying I'm very new to Flash (less than 2 weeks experience). I am working on a project where when a user rolls the mouse over an image a big text box appears in the open space above it. There are five images on the page and each time a user rolls over an image it should produce the same size text box in the exact same spot on the screen. However, I'm realizing that I am not able to position all of the boxes in the exact same place on the screen because the X and Y coordinates on image 1 (which I have converted to a movie symbol) are different than the X and Y coordinates on image 2 (which I have converted to a movie symbol).

Is there an easy way to like all of these boxes up?

Thanks,

Jeremy

• 1. Re: X Y coordinates are different in each symbol?
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

if your images have been converted to movieclips:

var tf:TextField=new TextField();

tf.type="dynamic";

tf.width=300;

tf.multiline=false;

// if you wanted to display a tooltip (ie, text near the image, assign tf.x and tf.y in overF).  otherwise, if you want to display text at the top center of the stage:

tf.x=stage.stageWidth/2-tf.width/2

addChild(tf);

image1.textS="this is the text that should display when image1 is rolled over";

image2.textS="this is the text that should display when the 2nd image is rolled over";

etc

for(var i:int=1;i<=5;i++){

this["image"+i].addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_OVER,overF);

this["image"+i].addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_OUT,outF);

}

function overF(e:MouseEvent):void{

tf.visible=true;

tf.text=MovieClip(e.currentTarget).textS;

}

function outF(e:MouseEvent):void{

tf.visible=false;

}

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: X Y coordinates are different in each symbol?
            CE_1234 Level 1

Thank you for the response.