Most like they are the same. Sound like your talking CS6 not PS6 and CS6 Autosave save a file you were working and CS6 crashed. When you start CS6 it will open the autosave file the was not saved by you. It sound like you not closing the recovery file or saving in under some name in one of your folders. So the recovery file does not get deleted by Photoshop. Every time Photoshop start the recovery file will be reopen. You need to locate your userid adobe Photoshop CS6 recovery folder and delete that file If Photoshop is not deleting it when you save or close out the recovery document.